How To Remove “Move To Dropbox” From Context Menu

How To Remove “Move To Dropbox” From Context Menu

Dropbox is a very well-known name in the field of personal cloud storage. Millions of PC and smartphone users are actively using Dropbox as their primary location to save their digital data. Dropbox app is available to all leading computer and mobile operating systems. When you install the Dropbox desktop client in Windows 10, Windows 8, or Windows 7, it adds Move to Dropbox option to the context menu (right-click menu). In simple words, once the Dropbox program is installed, you’ll see Move to Dropbox option when you right-click on a file or folder. The option is handy as we can right-click on a file or folder and then click the Move to Dropbox option to quickly upload the file to our Dropbox account without having to open the Dropbox client. The Move to Dropbox option comes in handy for users who actively upload files to Dropbox, but the same option might not be so useful for users who use the Dropbox once in a while to create a backup of their important files. Users who don’t use the Move to Dropbox option very often might want to get rid of it. Since there is no option exist under Dropbox settings to hide or remove Move to Dropbox option from the context menu of files and folders, here is how to get rid of Move to Dropbox option from the right-click menu in Windows. NOTE 1: It appears that the Move to Dropbox option also appears in Mac OS X, but this guide is for Windows only. NOTE 2: There is another method that requires you unregister DropboxExt25.dll and DropboxExt64.25.dll file using the elevated prompt. But since the technique is not very straight-forward, we are not explaining the technique here. Method 1 of 2 to disable Move to Dropbox from the context menu Step 1: The first step is to quit the Dropbox program if it’s running. To end the program, right-click on the Dropbox icon in the system tray to see the small dialog, click on the Settings icon, and then click Exit Dropbox option. Step 2: Next, right-click on the Dropbox shortcut on the desktop and click Properties. And if there is no shortcut on the desktop, please create one. Step 3: Under the Shortcut tab, click the Target box. Step 4: Add “-move-to-dropbox=False” (without quotes) switch at the end of the default target text. This is how the target text should look like after adding the above text. Step 5: Finally, click the Apply button. Now launch the Dropbox by double-clicking on the desktop icon or searching from the Start menu and then right-click on a file or folder to see the context menu without the annoying Move to Dropbox option. Method 2 of 2 to remove Move to Dropbox option from the context menu Go for this method if the above-mentioned workaround is not working on your computer. In this method, we use the popular CCleaner software (free) as it includes options to remove unwanted entries from the context menu. Step 1: Download CCleaner and get it installed, if it’s not already installed. Step 2: Fire up CCleaner. Navigate to Tools, click Startup, and then switch to the Context menu tab. Step 3: Here, select DropboxExt entry and then click the Disable button to remove Move to Dropbox option from the context menu. You need to restart your computer once to see the change. To enable the Move to Dropbox option again, please rerun the CCleaner program, navigate to Tools, Startup, and Context menu tab, select DropboxExt entry (if there are multiple entries, please select all of them) and then click Enable button. Reboot your computer. That’s it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *